Free travel on MRT before 7:45am from 24th June 2013

The early bird catches the worm. From 24th June 2013, commuters who can reach one of the 16 designated MRT stations before 7:45am will get the ride free. And if they reach between 7:45am to 8:00am, they will get up to 50 cents discount.


This incentive is actually part of the Government year long project to entice commuters to travel early so as to avoid the morning congestion on the trains.

The 16 MRT stations are: –

  1. Bugis
  2. Chinatown
  3. City Hall
  4. Clarke Quay
  5. Dhoby Ghaut
  6. Lavender
  7. Orchard
  8. Outram Park
  9. Raffles Place
  10. Somerset
  11. Tanjong Pagar
  12. Bayfront
  13. Bras Basah
  14. Esplanade
  15. Marina Bay
  16. Promenade

Do note that this scheme is for Monday to Friday only and the ride must not start from these stations. There are other initiatives but I think this free ride will be the most interesting.

Click here to read the media release from LTA

I think people are hard to please. From the comments on Straits Times, some are saying that it is a waste of time as it will not work. Some are complaining that the stations are only in city area and therefore not fair.

I believe the project will be adjusted accordingly based on the data collected. Do you think it will work?